Imphal, November 14, 2017 (DIPR): Her Excellency, Dr. Najma Heptullah, Governor of Manipur inaugurated a State Level Painting Competition on Energy Conservation at Raj Bhawan today. The state level painting competition was jointly organized by Ministry of Power, Government of India, NHPC Limited, Government of Manipur and Manipur State Power Distribution Company Limited.

Addressing the audience at the prize distribution function later in the day, Dr. Najma Heptullah expressed her admiration on the talents of children of Manipur. Reminiscing her excitement on today’s event, she expressed her desire to see more programmes for children at the Raj Bhawan. While citing her wish to see children’s imagination being ignited, she wished to see different theme-based events conducted each year where children could paint on themes like Swachh Bharat Mission or Tree Plantation, etc.

Drawing a comparison between an artist and a camera, she said that a camera cannot see and capture what an artist does. Expressing her observation on children as being innovative, she said that children are like plain papers where you can paint anything or that of a computer which can be fed with any information. She congratulated the prize winners while consoling the rest by saying all the paintings she saw today were all good.

Also speaking on the occasion, the Guest of Honour of the ceremony, Shri Th. Kiran Kumar, Director of Education (S) lauded the initiative of NHPC for boosting the participation by 60% over that of last year. He also echoed appreciation on the Chief Guest’s suggestion for more events for children from next year onwards.

Altogether one hundred participants took part in the State Level Painting Competition in two categories for a coveted cash prize of Rs. 20000, Rs.15000 and Rs.10000 as the 1st, 2nd and 3rd prizes alongwith a certificate in each category. In the first category out of the 50 participants from classes IV-VI, Doulas Lambamayum of St. George High School bagged the 1st prize while Martin Tongbram of Pitambara English High School and Y. Sameer Singh of Little Birds School were adjudged as the 2nd and 3rd prize winners respectively. In the second category for classes VII-IX, Oinam Catherin of Maria Montessori Sr. Sec. School, Ningthoujam Narmada Devi of Heritage Convent School and Yumlembam Udoynanda Singh of Tiny Tots Unique School won the 1st, 2nd and 3rd prizes respectively. Ten participants in each category were also awarded with certificates and a cash prize of Rs.5000 each.

The prize distribution ceremony was also attended by P. Chitaranjan, Chief Engineer, NHPC Ltd, Rajesh Kumar, Nodal Officer NHPC, NHPC staff, competitors and their guardians. (DIPR)


five × three =

14 + = 21