Home News & Article MT News 8th Mega Marathon- Premila and Sanjit win again

8th Mega Marathon- Premila and Sanjit win again


Imphal, February 16:  Sagolshem Premila of Yairipok Kekru and Th. Sanjit Luwang added yet another title to win the first position of the UPF’s Mega Marathon Manipur by winning the 8th edition of the marathon 2014.

The eight edition of Mega Marathon Manipur 2014 organised by United People’s front, Manipur in collaboration with Athletic Association of Manipur with the theme ‘Run for your Nation, Run Mega Marathon’ heldon Sunday was participated by 2087 athletes (1600 boys, 487 girls) including nine Athletes from Nagaland and two from West Bengal.

Athletes ran about 21 km long stretch in and around of greater Imphal.

In Men’s open of the 8th Mega Marathon, Oinam Sanaton of Oinam Mamang Leikai and Laithangbam Ranjan of  Sunu siphai, Moirang secured second and third place. In women’s open, Chaoba Chanu from Karam Makha Leikai and Makakmayum Minarashi of Yairipok Tulihal secured second and third place respectively.

Sarangthem Manaobi (Khoirenthaba), IPS, Member of International Bar Association flagged off the Mega Marathon from Khuman Lampak sports complex this morning.

Winners were felicitated with a Cash prize, Citation and Mementos. A cash reward of Rs 30,000, Rs 20,000 and Rs 15,000 was given to the first three winners of the both men and women competitors. Consolation prices of Rs 2,000 each were given to the fourth to 15th position holders. The Mega Marathon is one of the most popular runs in the Northeast.


 UPF has been organising this marathon with the purpose to make a healthy nation free from drugs, HIV/AIDS and other diseases through the medium of games and sports. Also, it aims to produce world-class athletes from the state. 

Previous articleKumar’s Mission Black-Gold: the Man who brought Vermi-Compost to State
Next articleLui-Ngai-Ni festival at Tamenglong


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

+ 80 = 86